Week 3: RSS and Google Reader

May 25, 2007 at 11:50 am 3 comments

This week’s lessons will focus on finding interesting blogs and setting up a reader account which will allow you to easily read new postings to blogs you select.  Lesson 1 may seem a bit long and tedious, but once you get the hang of subscribing to RSS feeds and reading them in your Google Reader account it gets much easier!  If you find the first lesson too long, break it up over a few days.  After you get through Lesson 1, Lesson 2 will be a breeze!

If you need any help, don’t hesitate to ask us!

Lesson #1  Learn about RSS feeds and setup your own Google Reader account  

Lesson #2  Set up a personal home page

Entry filed under: CT, Library2.0, Lucy Robbins Welles Library, Newington, rss, Web2.0.

Twitter Extra Credit

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. francaise  |  May 29, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    I can envision using RSS feeds if i am interested in a particular topic, and want to keep up to date. This is a version of SDI. I don’t think the average person would know enough to copy the url when they click on the RSS symbol. But thanks to you I now know! Thanks for all your hard work, Vicky and Sue.

    Reply
  • 2. suebeewankenobi  |  June 19, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    I am hopelessly lost. I tired to add feeds to my Yahoo account which I did, but now I cannot sign up for the Google one. I understand the concept of an RSS and have some on my Yahoo account, but I need some help>>

    Reply
  • 3. infogoddess  |  June 21, 2007 at 10:52 am

    Okay,
    I know I’m late with this, but I am so tickled to have a personalized home page! All the stuff I’m interested in and none of the garbage—how delightful!!
    As for the RSSes, I still have to locate what I did what seems like weeks ago. Hope I can find them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2007
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Del.icio.us

Flickr Photos

Thanks to Helene Blowers!

The Lucy’s Librarians Learn Library 2.0 was set up at Lucy Robbins Welles Library in Newington, CT as an online learning program for staff at the library. This program is a modified version of the Learning 2.0 program designed by Helene Blowers, Technology Director, Public Library of Charlotte & Mecklenburg County, North Carolina.

Creative Commons


