Welcome!

May 10, 2007 at 4:51 pm 5 comments

Welcome to our Lucy’s Librarians Learn Library 2.0 blog!  We will use this blog to post our Web 2.0 lessons each week. There will be 2- 4 lessons per week. Each lesson should take you no more than 15-30 minutes to do.

This week we will focus on settling into this program and learning the basics.    Try to get this week’s lessons completed before next Friday, May 18th, when we will post the next lessons.

Stop by or e-mail us with questions, comments, and feedback! 

Vicky & Sue S.

Entry filed under: Introduction, Library2.0, Lucy Robbins Welles Library, Web2.0.

Previous Lessons

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diane Durette  |  May 11, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Hi Vicky & Sue,

    I just went through lesson 1. I was amazed at all the different ways that John Edwards has used to reach the web audience! I also liked the idea of people being able to write comments about the books that they have read as part of the library catalog. I tried to IM Darien Library, from their Meebo website but I could not. I have a lot to learn!!

    Reply
  • 2. Helen  |  May 11, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Very eye-opening stats on the first “video” about media use by children.
    More than Michael Stephen’s remarks on “Tame the Web”, I really liked Michael Casey’s philosophy on Library 2.0, that it’s a combo of tech and non-tech applications and more a state of mind rather than tech-driven.
    Looking forward to future Friday lessons!

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa  |  May 15, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    I just completed my first set of lessons and am looking forward to learning more about the many, many aspects of Library 2.0. It was fun to explore the different sites and see how people are using the Internet to exchange information. I find I learn so much better by being able to actually try things to see how they work so I think these lessons will be a great way for me to learn.

    Reply
  • 4. Marian  |  May 18, 2007 at 11:56 am

    Thank you so much for “pushing” me into the world of Web 2.0. I found the first lesson informative and stimulating. Armed with a better understanding by what I learned first, it was enlightening to see what a few other libraries are doing with this new generation of WWW. As we all embrace it, I can see that we can be very creative in reaching our young patrons. This might be the avenue we need to reach more teens…let THEM create things for Us.

    Reply
  • 5. Jeanette  |  May 23, 2007 at 11:20 am

    Hi Vicky and Sue,
    I just finished, belatedly, my week 1 lesson. I was moved to action by the demo at the staff meeting. I am overwhelmed by the sheer volume of information in the Web 2.0 universe and the myriad of ways people can, will and do make use of it. Time for me to leave the Dark Ages.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2007
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Del.icio.us

Flickr Photos

Thanks to Helene Blowers!

The Lucy’s Librarians Learn Library 2.0 was set up at Lucy Robbins Welles Library in Newington, CT as an online learning program for staff at the library. This program is a modified version of the Learning 2.0 program designed by Helene Blowers, Technology Director, Public Library of Charlotte & Mecklenburg County, North Carolina.

Creative Commons


